The bane of my existence

In my yard I know no pest more loathsome than the Japanese beetle:

These little suckers really did a number on my newly planted New Horizon elm:

The traps that are sold at most home improvement stores are a waste of time at best.  Sure, lots of beetles end up in the bags but in reality the trap is probably attracting beetles from all over the neighborhood.  Some people advocate sprays, but these need to be reapplied constantly.  On the recommendation of the guys at the nursery I am going to try a Bayer 12 Month Tree & Shrub Protect & Feed.

We shall see…

One response to “The bane of my existence

  1. Pingback: Tomato Carnage | My Green Misadventure

Leave a Reply

