Compost Bins are In

It’s March 25th and the weather was beautiful.  It was 75 to 80 and sunny all day long today.  It felt so much like June since the entire neighborhood was outside doing yard work.

It was a great opportunity for me to get my compost bins into place.  I found these at Sam’s Club for approximately $45 each:

One came from my old house where I failed to get it into place before we moved and the second was purchased a couple of weeks ago.

I wanted to go with a two bin setup so that I could fill one up during one season and get compost out of another during the same season because it is the prior season’s “waste.”  The spot on the western side of my house gets a lot of late afternoon sun to heat the pile up, but it is relatively hidden so it will not be an eyesore.

My plan is to build a pair of freestanding trellises to place on either side of the bins.  With a climbing flowering vine, the trellises should provide a nice decorative touch to a very functional item.

Every house should have a compost bin…or two!

Leave a Reply

