Homemade Pineapple Jalapeno Jelly Dip

I love the roasted pineapple and habanero dip from Robert Rothschild Farm.  My local Costco carries it in a quart jar and it is addictive.  However, the heat gets to be a little overwhelming at times and no one likes the “burning ring of fire” you sometimes get the morning after.  Eat a bowl of this stuff with a few beers and your next day’s routine will include lots of wincing.  Trust me.

Because I feel empowered by my adventures in pickling garlic, I decided to try my hand at making my own version of the dip.  I adapted the recipe for habanero gold on page 131 from the Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving.

I substituted pineapple for the apricots and fresh jalapeno for the habanero.  The recipe was followed to the “T” otherwise and resulted in four eight ounce jars of dip:

The dip has appeared to set correctly, although as you can see in the picture above I have had a little problem with the distribution of particles.  Really, it’s no big deal because I will likely transfer the contents of the jar into a storage container and I can mix the contents thoroughly at that time for a more even distribution.

I highly suggest the Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving as a starter’s guide to all things canning and preserving.  There are a lot of recipes, lots of tips or tricks, and a whole bunch of inspiration.  I am flipping through the book a lot lately to see what will be my next home preserving adventure.  Maybe a corn relish…

Here is the recipe that I used:

Pineapple Jalapeno Jell Dip

Makes 4 half-pint jars

1/3 cup finely diced pineapple

3/4 cup white vinegar

1/4 cup finely diced red onion

1/4 cup finely diced sweet red bell pepper

1/4 cup finely diced jalapeno peppers, seeds removed

3 cups granulated sugar

1 3 ounce pouch liquid pectin

  1. Combine apricots and vinegar in a deep stainless steel pan; let stand 4 hours. Add onions, peppers, and sugar and bring to a full rolling boil.  Stirring constantly, boil for 1 minute. Remove from heat and add liquid pectin, mixing well.
  2. Pour jelly into hot jars, dividing solids equally among jars and filling each jar to within 1/4-inch of top rim. Wipe rims and apply lids.
  3. Process 10 minutes in a boiling water bath. Cool upright, until lids pop down, about 30 minutes. When lids are concave but the jelly is still hot, carefully grasp jar without disturbing lid and invert, twist, or rotate each jar to distribute solids throughout jelly.  Repeat as necessary during the cooling/setting time, until solids remain suspended in the jelly.
One response to “Homemade Pineapple Jalapeno Jelly Dip

  1. Pingback: Pineapple Jalapeno Jelly Update | My Green Misadventure

Leave a Reply

