Pineapple Jalapeno Jelly Update

Well, how did my modified pineapple jalapeno jelly dip turn out?

Pretty good, but it is a little light on the heat.  I do not think that I need to go the habanero route next time.  Rather, my plan is to increase the amount of jalapenos and pineapple to jazz up the dip a little bit.  As it stands now the flavor is heavy on the sweet because of the high sugar content.

I also think that I need to grill the pineapples for a little while to caramelize some of the sugars in an effort to give the dip a little bit of a different flavor as well.

This is the problem with canning and making your own foods…it’s a constant journey of exploration and experimentation.  Like my beer brewing, it never feels like I will return to the same recipe because there are so many other enticing options to try.

2 responses to “Pineapple Jalapeno Jelly Update

  1. Don’t jalapeños make everything better?

  2. Like bacon, jalapenos have a magic ability to improve almost any dish.

Leave a Reply

