A Good Sunday

Some days are just made for the kitchen.  On Saturday the temperature tickled 70 and the sun shined throughout the day.  It was so pleasant that I mowed my lawn in shorts and a t-shirt without the slightest hint of fall cold.

Sunday was an entirely different story.  The temperature dropped twenty degrees from morning to afternoon and it rained from the moment that anyone in my house was awake.  This was the kind of day to spend getting stuff done in the kitchen.

With the weather being miserable it was the perfect time for soup.  My daughter requested chicken noodle soup and chicken noodle soup she got.  Not condensed soup from a can.  It was the time intensive method where you poach the chicken in stock, simmer down the stock to make an intense broth, simmer the vegetables to really flavor everything, etc.  It is one of those pots that sits on the stovetop all day long and fills the house with a wonderful aroma.  I wonder if warm weather locales get the satisfaction of a house filled with simmering soup the same way.

The call of the kitchen continued.  How so?  I turned four pounds of peeled garlic into ten pints of pickled garlic.  Now that my dad knows I can make the stuff for cheap he is consuming it at a rate that makes me worried his warding off vampires in the evening.  I got a little creative this round by making five pints using a mix of regular distilled white vinegar and apple cider vinegar.  I am hoping it can add a little extra zing.

But my pickling wasn’t quite done yet.  Since I had all of the equipment out I went whole hog and processed two pounds of ginger.  I will post more about this adventure when I get a chance to look at some of my pictures.  Needless to say, when my wife came home from an errand she was a little surprised to see an entire counter full of jars containing pickled garlic and ginger.  Some wives may worry about their husbands going out and buying electronics or some other cliché.  My wife worries about coming home to a counter of pickles.

It was only five o’clock in the afternoon, dinner was already made, and it seemed like I could get more done.  Why not bottle some beer?  I had a carboy of Dry Irish Stout in the basement that was ready for bottling.  Just under two hours later I had twenty eight bottles of Dry Irish Stout in bottles hopefully carbonating.  In two weeks I get to enjoy the fruit of that labor.

It is days like today that make me wonder how productive we can truly be in our homes.  Sure, it was a lot of work but it seems like so much was produced.

One response to “A Good Sunday

  1. Pingback: Pickling Ginger | My Green Misadventure

Leave a Reply

