Pickling Ginger

One of the simple pleasures in life is pickled ginger.  Don’t believe me?  Go to a decent sushi place and ask for some pickled ginger on the side.  Eat it in between pieces of sushi and tell me it is not wonderful.  Traditionally a palate cleanser, pickled ginger can have a muted fresh ginger bite with a note of sweet from the pickling brine.  Rather than an afterthought or condiment it deserves its own moment in the spotlight.

Then one day I am reading through my RSS feeds and come across Eric Gower’s recipe for homemade pickled ginger.  Granted, his recipe is not shelf stable like the pickled garlic I have been making but there is no reason why I could not adapt my methods to ginger.

On my very productive Sunday I undertook to making pickled ginger for the first time.  Start with a couple of pounds of fresh ginger:

I tend to like my ginger pieces thicker than normal, so I set my mandoline to 1/8″ and ran the peeled ginger across the blade. Instead of going for a very sweet brine, I adapted the recipe I have used for pickled garlic from Pick Your Own.org.

Quickly, two pounds of fresh ginger became five jars of slices in brine:

I am going to wait a couple of weeks to open the first jar in hopes the flavors mellow and mingle.  The last batch of pickled garlic that I made was still a little “hot” a week after canning.  Some things truly do get better with age.

 

One response to “Pickling Ginger

  1. I agree with you – pickled ginger is the best! I try and sneak a few (or a lot) of the packaged pickled ginger into my bag if they have it before I leave a sushi place. Can’t get enough of the stuff!

Leave a Reply

