A Solution to My Lighting Conundrum

Candelabra base (E12 if you are into the nomenclature) bulbs are the devil.  The two lights above the vanity in my master bathroom utilize candelabra base lights for some reason, which I could never figure out because there is more than enough room inside the glass sconces to contain a medium base bulb socket.  The lights have bedeviled me because finding efficient replacements for candelabra base bulbs has been very difficult.

Initially, I tried out several compact fluorescents which all seemed to burn out in record time.  I am talking about a time frame measured in months, like 2 months.  While the lights in the bathroom are turned on for a bit of time every day there is no way that the usage patterns would suggest a bulb lifespan that short.  Heck, the incandescent that came with the lights lasted longer than that.

LEDs have been a no go because the light output for candelabra base bulbs always seems low.  Sure, there are three bulbs per light and two lights meaning that each bulb can be in the 40 watt range to provide a nice amount of light.  But, the bulbs I was seeing in the store equaled the lumens output of a 15 watt bulb or so.  At best the bulb would claim to replace a 25 watt bulb.

On a quick trip to pick up a few hardware items for miscellaneous projects around the house—the joys of home ownership—I stumbled upon these LED bulbs:

ESKAA LED

Candelebra base?  Check.  40 watt equivalent?  Check.  Things were looking good.  At approximately $25 for the pack of three bulbs I was sold.

My primary concern was regarding the manufacturer.  Like CFLs, the “off brand” LEDs I have purchased in the past have had spotty reliability and inconsistent light output.  There have been bulbs, both LED and CFL, that have come from the same manufacturer but performed crazy different.  One time the light output was so different that it looked like two different wattage bulbs installed in the fixture.

ESKAA is a China-based manufacturer of a broad based solution set for lighting–how is that for MBA speak?  What does this mean for you and me?  Not much if the lights do not perform very well.

The construction of the bulbs was pretty similar to what I have seen in other lower cost LEDs: white plastic heat sink base and clear plastic bulb.  One nice upside was that the bulbs were minimally packaged.  If you have opened an LED bulb in the last few months you have probably been left with a pile of paperboard and plastic packaging.  It’s getting a little ridiculous.

The light quality of the bulbs was good and I plan on replacing the assortment of bulbs in the companion light with these very same bulbs after my next visit to the hardware store.  Finally, a solution!

2 responses to “A Solution to My Lighting Conundrum

  1. My experience with these candelabra bulbs has not been good. Advertised as long-life bulbs, one failed within months. Within 2 years, four out of six have failed. I’d love to hear if this is what others have experienced, because I’m about ready to go back to incandescent bulbs.

    • These bulbs are still present in the fixtures which I installed them. I have also found another brand of candelabra base bulbs that have fared well in another fixture.

      I think the LED bulbs are much better than the candelabra base CFLs that seemed to fail within months of installation.

Leave a Reply

