Building a Keezer

In every hobby there are certain plunges that the enthusiast takes signifying that there hobby has taken over a greater than normal share of their free time.  In the case of homebrewing one of those plunges is building a keezer.

What’s a keezer?  Unlike a kegerator, which is usually a conversion of a refrigerator, a keezer is a converted freezer.  Both devices can hold commercial kegs, but are commonly associated with the use of repurposed soda or Cornelius kegs.  The primary benefit to the homebrewer is that a keezer and the associated kegging relieves the enthusiast from the drudgery that is bottling.  It’s a first world problem that I am complaining about, but two hours or more of my life is just too much.

Plus, tap beer at home is so cool.

None of the steps necessary to complete the conversion is overly complex, but the options that you will commonly find from the major search engines can leave you somewhat confused.  My keezer is a simple build using a free 5.1 cubic foot chest-style freezer donated by my mother-in-law and utilizes keg equipment purchased from my local homebrew shop.  A hearty “thank you” goes out to Joseph over at BIY Homebrew Supply in Marion, IA.

This is not a project for the faint of heart not because of its complexity or inherent difficulty, but primarily due to the fact that everyone’s build is going to be slightly different.  Every documented keezer build that I researched over the course of a few months in preparation differed slightly from its closest cousin.  Whether this is a product of user interference or inherent in the somewhat improvised nature of turning a freezer into a keg cooler I do not know.  But be warned, if you try this at home—and you should because bottling is such a bore—your results will be different.

In subsequent posts I will detail the wiring necessary to maintain a temperature above freezing, crafting a collar to house some of the system’s equipment, and the final setup that will hopefully result in finely crafted homebrew flowing into a pint glass.

Did I mention that I am going to have tap beer in my basement?  Oh wait, I probably did…

2 responses to “Building a Keezer

  1. Why thank you for the shout out! I’m happy to be of assistance–as are all of us here at BIY! Cheers!

    • Congratulations on the new store in North Liberty.

      I will probably be in this weekend to pick up the ingredients for a new batch of house pale ale.

      Now that I have kegged beer in my basement I suddenly have lots of visitors as the weather has taken a turn toward warmer temps.

Leave a Reply

