Rookie Kegging Mistakes

This week I was hoping to share some glorious pictures and words about the first beers poured forth from my recently completed keezer.  Alas, I feel victim to a pair of rookie kegging mistakes.

First, replace the seals on any used Cornelius keg that you purchase.  I thought the seals looked fine and did not replace the large o-ring.  Sure enough the keg was not sealed for the past two weeks.  So, all that keg conditioning that I thought was going on was really just escaping through a small crack in the seal.

Second, pressure test your keg before letting the keg sit to condition.  I did not have a CO2 cylinder or disconnects at the time that I transferred my first batch to a keg so I am going to take a mulligan.  However, if I had been able to pressure test the keg to ensure a seal the problem I talked about above would not have happened and I would not be writing about my failure.

In review, when you prepare your first batch of beer to be kegged in a used Cornelius keg just replace the large o-ring on the lid, use some keg lube to assist in a seal, and pressure test the keg to ensure that there are no leaks.

Once you get the hang of this procedure it takes about a minute to complete.  One minute to save a batch of beer.

I am hoping to be back in the next couple of days to share the final parts of my keezer build minus actually pouring some beer to drink.

One response to “Rookie Kegging Mistakes

  1. Pingback: Snapshot and Cold Snap | My Green Misadventure

Leave a Reply

