Founders Brewing All Day IPA

Beers have gotten big. I do not mean Texas Roadhouse big where a beer comes in sizes approximated by milk jugs sizes. I mean that beers are both big in terms of alcohol and bitterness. When wheat beers are over 6% ABV and 100 IBU is not an uncommon benchmark for a pale ale to meet someone has to say, “Stop the insanity!” Sorry, I went all Susan Powter on y’all.

Founders Brewing out of Grand Rapids, Michigan answers the call to offer something that is just bigger with All Day IPA:

All Day IPA

The description is that it keeps your taste buds satisfied while keeping your senses sharp. At 4.7% ABV and 42 IBU this beer is right in what I consider to be the sweet spot of easy drinking pale ales. Right now I am waiting to tap two batches of my house pale ale which are calculated to come in at about 3.7% ABV and 35 IBU, so All Day IPA was a perfect tester.

This beer lives up to the billing of all day drinkability without putting you face down on the lawn. This does not taste like a watered down IPA at all. Sometimes a “session” pale ale can taste like a cop out where it seems that the brewer just doubled the water in the brew kettle to get down to spec. All Day IPA was a recipe that was obviously purpose built to come in where it did. This is the kind of beer that I think is often overlooked in today’s ever crowded craft beer market and it is a shame.

It is brewed using Simcoe and Amarillo hops, which surprised me a bit because I did not notice the sometimes overpowering flavors and aromas present in both of those varieties. Maybe I am still scarred by a Simcoe dry hopped IPA that still lingers in the back of my throat. Ugh.

Being available in cans also means that you can bring a few to places where regular old bottles or growlers cannot go. And it comes in a fifteen pack. Winner, winner, chicken dinner.

I am hesitant to call any beer a truly smashing success, but like Toppling Goliath’s pseudoSue this particular beer hits the spot:

Purchase 4 Mug Rating

4 responses to “Founders Brewing All Day IPA

  1. Pingback: Lagunitas Day Time IPA | My Green Misadventure

  2. Pingback: Deschutes Brewery Fresh Squeezed IPA | My Green Misadventure

  3. Pingback: Surly Brewing Xtra-Citra Pale Ale | My Green Misadventure

  4. I will immediately snatch your rss feed as I can’t
    find your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please allow me realize so that I may just
    subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

