Stuff I Like: Selle Anatomica Titanico X

Is it possible to purchase a bicycle saddle that is made in the U.S.A.? Yes.

Would you actually want to purchase said saddle? Yes.

This brings me to the saddles from Selle Anatomica:

Selle Anatomica Profile

I own a Selle Anatomica Titanico X. I purchased it with my own money, so there is no friendly bias to the company other than that accrued through the performance of their product relative to the dollars that I spent. Currently, the Titanico X is being replaced by a similar saddle for 2014 so not all of my impressions may be relevant. I also purchased a clearance saddle that may have had defects, although I cannot find any, so the price was reduced by about one-third off normal retail.

There is no more personal choice for a cyclist than his or her saddle. Unlike handlebars with multiple positions a cyclist generally has limited variability upon which to place their rear end. Sure, you can slide fore and aft but those are generally very minor adjustments in position and I find that you end up returning to a sort of equilibrium point quickly.

The key is to find a saddle that fits well and is comfortable over the length of a ride. Too many people end up with overly padded saddles that actually begin to rub the wrong way when the mileage gets high.

For years, I was an ardent fan of the Selle Italia Flite. The shape is classic cycling. If you remember watching cycling in the 1990s, you remember seeing Flites in every color under the sun on almost every bike in the peloton. Over time the shape has seemed to change very little, but I no longer find it the perfect partner in crime for long days on gravel roads.

The Titanico X, like all Selle Anatomica saddles, is made using a suspended leather design. You may be familiar with this design If you have ever seen a Brooks saddle. The Titanico X does however feature a slot in the saddle:

Selle Anatomica Behind

The idea is to allow the differing sides of your body to move somewhat independently. I do not know if that is what the biometrics are but the saddle is uber comfortable in the few long rides I have put in during the early season. Plus, in terms of being able to adjust my fit on the bike the Titanico X’s long rails allowed me to really dial things in. Too often I would find myself wishing I could slide a saddle back just a little more. It’s a personal thing.

Like all leather saddles the material will begin to stretch and sag. Adjustment is super easy using a single hex bolt at the front of the saddle.

Icing on the cake is that the saddle is made in the U.S.A. with a lot of the materials, primarily the leather, being sourced from the U.S.A. as well. I think it is important that we embrace a level of quality manufacturing in this country and that means seeking out makers of goods rather than just blindly purchasing something from a catalog with little consideration given to its origin. It’s a small thing, but I think it is important.

As the miles accumulate this summer I look forward to updating everyone on the new saddle.

Leave a Reply

